don’t know nothing about nothing

2 May

I wanted to share my favorite track off the new Paul Simon album, called “Rewrite” (right click below and “Save Link As” to download it to your computer). Every time this song comes on my iPod and he sings “I’m gonna change the ending” I find myself nodding along. It’s probably got a bunch of deep significance, since I’m 32 and cramming all kinds of new beginnings into a very busy year (FINALLY graduating from college! going to live in China for a while! going to grad school!).

But it’s also a really great song (actually, the whole album’s awesome).

Rewrite – Paul Simon

Ever since I got to China, my iPod really wants to play Paul Simon. I don’t know why–for the first month or so, I was really into listening to “Hearts and Bones”, and then it was “The Rhythm of the Saints” for a while. And of course “Graceland” is one of my top 3 albums of all time, so it’s in constant rotation. It’s just good seeing-the-world music.

I also wanted to share some photos from the week I spent in Shanghai back in February, so I’ll just go ahead and tack those on here, as well.

Chinese acrobat show! This night was the first time I used my new camera, so the photos aren’t stellar.

My roommate Kayla and I at The Bund, which is the heavily European-influenced financial district of Shanghai. (The European influence is in front of us, not behind us, so you totally can’t see it in these pictures.)

I managed to take this photo before I noticed the 2 police officers in orange vests blowing their whistles vehemently and descending upon me. You’re not allowed to stand on park benches in Shanghai, apparently.

They raced us through Old Shanghai one night on the way to dinner. I managed to snap some photos, but none of them turned out that great…so bear in mind that I was being jockeyed along while I tried to snap these. Also, it’s worth mentioning that we were there immediately after Chinese New Year, during the Spring Festival, which is the biggest holiday of the year in China. It’s kind of like arriving in the US for the first time on December 27th? Totally the holidays.

We went to a club one night, and it was less than $15 cover for an open bar. I went around trying to get everyone I met to do the robot, and by the way Chinese youth totally know how to do the robot and when you ask them at 2am on a crowded club dance floor, they’re totally happy to demonstrate. I managed to take this picture before I got yelled at by club security, and if you don’t know the people in the photo enough to recognize them without seeing faces, it’s probably boring. But I find it amusing, so I’m posting it.

One of the last nights, we played Apples To Apples in the hotel. I was bitter because I got dealt “Rock ‘Em Sock ‘Em Robots”, which is quite probably the best card in the entire Apples To Apples deck, and then I didn’t win the round when I played it. Any game where Rock ‘Em Sock ‘Em Robots doesn’t automatically win isn’t a game in which I want to take part.

And, finally, Kayla in our hotel room packing to leave on the night before orientation ended.

2 Responses to “don’t know nothing about nothing”

  1. Jessica@Team Rasler May 8, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    This entire post makes me miss you terribly. It’s just so YOU.

    Thanks for the song. I have too much to say about it to put here. I’ll email you later.

    • Erin May 11, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

      I miss you, too. So much. I really wish we could just, like, have a sleepover and stay up all night talking and catch up.

      You know, I’m not where I thought I would be at 32. Back in high school, I never doubted that I’d get married and have a family (and I still think I might), and I thought for sure I’d have an established career by this point. There are moments when I’m really jealous of people our age who made different choices. Which is one of the things I think about when I hear that Paul Simon song…I guess I like being reminded that it’s far from over!

Leave a Reply

