a light and tumble journey

2 May

I’m behind on posting about what I’ve been doing lately. This is probably going to be somewhat sketchy on details, but I have photos!

I’ve been hanging out with my Chinese teacher, Rosabel. She’s a student at Jiujiang University and when we met for our first lesson a month ago she declared that we were meant to be friends and go shopping together. And, lo, her prediction has come true.

This photo was taken during an afternoon spent shopping (and shopping, and shopping) in the city center a few weekends ago.

Last Sunday, I went on a second outing to climb Mt. Lu. This time, it was just the female teachers from my school, and we went to climb a different peak, taking a path through the UNESCO geo-park. It was much more scenic than the last climb, and also more my speed…a meandering, winding stroll looping around and up, rather than a staircase pointed straight up a sheer incline. I wasn’t planning to go on this expedition, but my friend and coworker Jenny called and woke me up at 6am that day, and she wasn’t taking no for an answer. We had a lot of fun.

On the bus ride to Mt. Lu.

Jenny and I, climbing.

And here are some photos of Mt. Lu that I took along the way.

3 Responses to “a light and tumble journey”

  1. C. Crompton May 2, 2011 at 12:56 am #

    Really, really beautiful!

  2. kathy tabatowski May 2, 2011 at 1:49 am #

    I was going to say that!

  3. Jessica@Team Rasler May 8, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    Lovely. I just finished watching “Eat, Pray, Love,” and the woman makes friends so quickly in every place she goes. In this post, you really remind me of her, meeting people right away who predict that you’ll be friends. : )

Leave a Reply

