chang jiang

5 Mar

Yesterday was sunny for the first time in more than a week, so after my classes I took the bus into the city and walked along the Chang Jiang (Yangtze) River for about a mile, just to the east of downtown.

Even when it’s sunny here, there’s always haze around the horizon. The city sits at the foot of a very famous mountain (Mt. Lushan), which I have never seen. When I ask about it, people say, “Oh, it’s right there!” and they point off into the distance. But the horizon is just haze.

When I ask, I’m told that it’s not pollution–just fog. Still, considering I live on the campus of an oil refinery, I have to admit I’m skeptical. This is an industrial city, and it seems smoggy to me–but I guess it might be the time of year. In other people’s pictures (online) of Jiujiang, you can clearly see the huge mountain rising behind the city. Maybe, once spring passes, I’ll get to see it in person.

Some of the pictures below look like they were taken on an overcast day. It wasn’t overcast–the sun was shining brightly overhead. But the bright light reflected off all the fog, and it was messing with the lighting in my photos, making it appear gray and overcast.

The buildings right on the river are more traditional looking than any others I’ve seen around town. I’m assuming it’s because they predate the office buildings and apartment high rises in the rest of the city.

I don’t know what this building is. I’ve been meaning to ask James why it’s out in the water (is it a lighthouse?), but I keep forgetting.

An exercise park on the river bank. There’s public exercise equipment everywhere in China, and people use it all the time. Everyday, I walk past two similar parks between my apartment and the school.

I’m making an effort to post more photos. Maybe this week I’ll even get a few shots of my students!

2 Responses to “chang jiang”

  1. kjschnur March 6, 2011 at 1:27 am #

    love the photos! Yes fog does “play”tricks” with your camera. I love the fog in the photo! Your eye naturally can see thru fog, better that a camera lens does. Sort of the way your eye looks beyond stuff, in your way in photos. You see this with twigs, or tree limbs in landscapes that your eyes just seem to see beyond to the landscape, your camera cannot bypass what it wants. You need to move to a new a better angle. Talking about angles, keep the sun behind you or to your right or left, by changing your position.

  2. Jessica March 7, 2011 at 4:37 am #

    That’s how it is here, too. When it’s foggy or overcast, you can only see a few nearby mountains. Then, on a clear day, it seems like the mountains come out of nowhere and look so close! I can’t wait to see photos of your first sunny day.

Leave a Reply

